Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for August 9th, 2009

Passo Gardena, ten kilometers of

Passo Gardena, ten kilometers of smooth serpentine climbing bliss.

Five weeks with no cell phone, no computer, and infrequent internet access was a wonderful technological exhale.  I did have the camera at my side and in the next series of posts will do my best to select from the over one thousand pictures to bring you a visual variety that imparts atleast to some degree the beauty, excitement and fun of my time in Switzerland and the Italian Dolomites.  Distilling the experience down to pictures on the computer is a challenge, and rather than writing long stories I opted more to share images with fun to read captions, to leave room for you to create your own as you look through mine. 
Click on the image itself for a larger view and check back every couple of days for another segment of pictures rom the trip.  Please leave comments, questions, and insights on the comments section of any of the posts if you have time. 
Magical Mystical

Family, Friends, fellow bloggers, are you ready for a Magical Mystical Wiener Tour through Switzerland and the Italian Dolomites? Well hop on the lip-licking Schnitzel Shuttle and let's begin!

 
My magic carpet taking a break to enjoy wildflowers and handmade fences in the Dolomites.

My magic carpet taking a break to enjoy wildflowers and handmade fences in the Dolomites.

Give your loved one a kiss before

Give your loved one a kiss before you depart, and now we're off, time to ride...

Two thirty pound Swiss rifles

Fortunately the Swiss and Italians are friendly and welcoming. I don't think I can fit a gun rack on my bike and the Schnitzel Shuttle definately has little tolerance for two thirty pound Swiss rifles.

Fresh espresso, with my preferred

Fresh Italian espresso, with my preferred touch, a bit of honey, should keep you energized if you feel your energy lagging.

Just because it's vacation doesn't mean there won't be some hard work involved...

Just because it's vacation doesn't mean there won't be some hard work involved... Where else can you do a ride with over 15,000 feet of climbing in just over 100 miles and the next day do 12,000 feet of climbing in just 75 miles?

...European road engineering and amazing views make it all worthwhile.

...European road engineering and amazing views that a camera only begins to capture.

Wash your feet

 

If you do find yourself in any trouble give these guys a call, yes, in America they are known for their studly image, though I

If you do find yourself in any trouble give these guys a call, yes, in America they are known for their studly image, though I can not attest to the last part of this seemingly compound word. Studafuch, Ladin for "firefighter".

Read Full Post »